Once Again

Today was going to be a list of 2017 goals. Instead, I’ll be reviewing cold and flu remedies, because I’m got some horrible chest cold. I thought I’d escaped the plague epidemics that seemed to ravage the population over the festive season, but apparently not. My immune system held out this long, but it’s now finally given in. I’m sad. Hopefully I can at least help others in the same situation, give you some healing inspiration.

So, here are the remedies I’ve tried.
1. The Gold Standard: Juice of one half lemon. Some slices of ginger. Slices of chilli or dried cayenne flakes. Tbsp honey or other syrupy sweetener. Shove it all in a mug with warm water. 
Makes you feel a lot better. Astringent lemon seems to clear the goo out, chilli clears the sinuses, honey soothes, it’s warm and delicious, you can tweak it to your taste.
For an expert level version, add brandy.
Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆
Delicious and healthy. Doesn’t actually cure colds. May dissolve tooth enamel.
2. “Golden Milk”. It was with shame and trepidation that I jumped onto this bandwagon. I can’t remember which specific recipe I used, but a quick Google will throw up hundreds of websites with recipes for this, often touting miraculous (and pretty unsubstantiated) health benefits. Turmeric is genuinely amazing, but it becoming the next fad superfood is annoying. [HIPSTER ALERT] I was into turmeric way before it was cool. Turmeric is cheaper than Savlon and hydrocortisone cream, and is also the basis of my famous instant noodle soup.
Anyway, I made the ‘Golden Milk’. The taste was pleasant but bland, I think I’d need to add more ginger and pepper. It was soothing, I think.  The texture was deeply unpleasant though. Greasy and powdery. But I get that’s what you get when you dump a load of turmeric and cinnamon powder into your drink, and top it off with coconut oil.
Rating: ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆
It did soothe my throat. But it also left a greasy feeling in my mouth from the coconut oil. Maybe I could make it in a less sucky way. Maybe I’ll just make some dhal and eat my turmeric like a normal person.
However, I’m a sucker for magical remedies, so here’s my next plan. This Fire Cider sounds appallingly badass. I’ll keep you posted how that one goes.
3. Tiger Balm I am never without a pot of this stuff. From the sesh to the sickbed, it’ll cure what ails you. Today I’ve been rubbing it on my chest, actually rubbing it around my face when the sinus pain got bad, and it helps. It contains menthol, camphor, cassia, peppermint and cajuput, which is basically all of those ones which burn and make your eyes sting. Which is why my method of applying it to the face is not actually recommended. I don’t want anyone trying to sue me for any subsequent injury.
Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆ 
Allows breathing, which is always helpful. You can really feel it opening those nasal passages, and you can also rub it on the aching joints that these illnesses cause for some reason. It’s lost one rating star for its horrible consistency. I got the cheap one, so it’s sticky and greasy, and my chest is breaking out in spots from touching the stuff.
4. Radish
Yes, radish. The juice of radish clears the chest. Hollow out a radish and put sugar in it. Leave overnight, drink the juice that is drawn out.
Rating: ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆
Radish juice is surprisingly palatable. My chest feels much less wheezy, but that may also be because of the next product…
5. Avoiding Dairy
Dairy is renowned as a  phlegm causing food. So during a cold or chest infection, it should be skipped.
Rating: ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆
HAHAHA you thought I could go one day without cheese?! One single day? Nope. Apparently not.
6. Halls Sugar Free Assorted Citrus Flavour Sweets with Vitamin C
Kind of numb the throat. Contain 450mg Vit C per 100g. If you ate a whole pack, you’d probably get your RDA. You’d probably also feel really sick.
Rating: ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆
They are sweets. I don’t even know why I’m writing this. They do clear your nose a bit, for a pretty short time.
So that’s it for today. Hopefully tomorrow I’ll be cured.
Once Again

Leave a Reply

